RSS

A New “Project” for 2015!

30 Dec

SocksHey all!
Hope everyone’s holidays were super spectacular and that their New Year’s are the start of another amazing year!

Mine sure was! I was spoiled rotten this Christmas – gifted with many gift cards (for such places like Cineplex, Chapters, and H&M to name a few), many colourful socks (pictured right), TV show boxsets (Smallville final season, Will & Grace final season, Modern Family season 4), and also THIRTEEN Pop! Vinyl Figurines. Have you heard of those yet? I saw them and thought they were so cute and started figuring out who to buy which ones for… when I realized they may not appreciate them as much as I do. So I says to myself, I says, “Hogwash! I want my own collection!”
And that’s what I requested. I’d say thirteen new figurines is a good start to the collection! The photo isn’t that great, but you get the jist of it. I was thinking of maybe doing a photoshoot for each character and making a portfolio for them haha!
Pop!

Now, this brings us to 2015!
I don’t have any New Year’s Resolutions this year, besides reading the book The Happiness Project written by Gretchen Rubin. I’m already a relatively happy guy – don’t get me wrong there! – but I really wanted to read through this book and try applying many of the interesting techniques and mindsets to boost my overall moral and productiveness. I’ve noticed I’m physically and spiritually drained most days, and alongside some exercise, I think this book will help get my head in the right mind-frame.

The Happiness ProjectWhat does that mean for you guys? Well, the book is broken down by each month of the year, with each month dedicated to a different area in your life, or a different goal to achieve. That means I’ll be writing about my findings every month – a brief description of what was expected of me, what I was able to manage, where I struggled, what I liked, what I didn’t like, etc. etc.
Believe me, it’ll be much more interesting once we get into it!

If you want to, I’d encourage you to research the book and maybe buy it to try it out in your own life! Heck, you could even read it along with me and add your perspectives each month!
I’ve read most of the book in the past but never finished it, so this time I want to log my progress and involve your interaction, your ideas, and your experience. 😀

For more information on the book and the author, check out this link: The Happiness Project
Also, just for fun, check out this link to see all the book covers that are sold in each country: Foreign Covers

Wishing you all the best and see you guys in the New Year!
xoxo

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2014 in Books, Life, My Happiness Project, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “A New “Project” for 2015!

  1. Wayne Bristow

    December 30, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    This from a former collector, once you take them out of their original packaging, they become devalued. For the photo shoot, just google them and write up the profiles. I don’t have any New Years Resolutions either, I’ve had a great year and I’m hoping to continue doing what I have been doing and it just might be as good this coming year. I haven’t read a book in years so not sure it would benefit me to buy the Happiness Project, even for the challenges it offers. I’ll just watch how things go with you. Wishing all the best for you………

     
    • Markus McD

      December 30, 2014 at 5:58 pm

      Thanks Wayne! Yeah I know, taking them out of the packaging will devalue them… but really, the packaging isn’t the greatest either. The boxes get dented easily or covered with stickers. My figurines might be funner outside the box 😛 And why would you turn down an opportunity for a photoshoot? LOL
      Alright, you can watch and read as I struggle through the book. Don’t be surprised when I’m super happy like all the time, ok?!

       
  2. Kerry's Organized Chaos

    January 1, 2015 at 10:16 am

    I’ve read that and I really enjoyed it! Can’t wait to read your posts!

     
    • Markus McD

      January 1, 2015 at 10:59 am

      Awesome!! I’m looking forward to it as well – thanks for stopping by! At least I’m not the only one who’s heard of the book lol!

       
  3. Kev

    January 24, 2015 at 6:54 am

    I must admit, I have never been one for self help books, so I will read with interest what you get from this. You’re already fabulous. You don’t need a book to help you with that 😀

     
    • Markus McD

      January 24, 2015 at 9:17 am

      Awww thanks! This confirms my fabulousness!
      This is just to increase the fab so it lasts forever haha 😝

       

Share your thoughts! :)

 
