RSS

March: Aim Higher

07 Mar

Good day folks! It’s time to reveal The Happiness Project goals of March… the month of… green?

March’s focus: Aim Higher/Work

That's me back in 2012 with green hair, green car, & green plaid!

That’s me back in 2012 with green hair, green car, & green plaid!

Gretchen, a master at research, found a common theme: Happy people outperform less happy people at work. It’s like a cycle, the happier people are more likely to receive promotions, given more responsibilities, more likely to receive aid from co-workers, etc, etc.
Why does it matter that you should be happy at work, besides the above mentioned points? Frankly, we all spend a lot of time at work. So we might as well work somewhere we like and enjoy. You know the saying, “Do what you love.” So, consider it! What is it that you do in your spare time? Can you make a career out of it?

“Launch a Blog” – Well, that’s done! Thank god, otherwise you wouldn’t be reading this! Haha! Instead, I’ll substitute this goal with: Read a Book.
Excerpt from Gretchen: “I worried about the time and effort a blog would consume… It would expose me daily to public criticism and failure.”
I had these same fears when I first started blogging, more about the criticism and such, not about the time and effort. Not any more! You just get over it after awhile 🙂

“Enjoy the Fun of Failure” – If you don’t take any risks, you won’t know what rewards could be earned. If you let the fear of rejection keep you from doing things, then you’ll never end up doing them and you’ll always wonder, “What if?” Don’t live your life in fear of failure or rejection – we all do it!
Excerpt from Gretchen: “If something is worth doing, it’s worth doing badly.”

“Ask for Help” – Just because you are independent, like I am, it doesn’t mean you can’t ask for help from others. Just because something is in your field of expertise doesn’t mean you can’t ask for assistance or input.
I’ve been opening up more about my novel with Teddy and asking for his opinion on certain plot points. His added ideas have helped me see things I may not have caught before, allowing me to explore other options. Just because it’s my novel, and I’m the expert, doesn’t mean I can’t ask for outside help. It’s good to bounce ideas off of others.
Or maybe it’s even asking for help in creating some furniture, or searching for someone to watch the kids, or getting assistance maintaining your weight, or requesting help for transportation reasons. Whatever it is, don’t be afraid to ask for assistance!

“Work Smart” – Where is your time going? Endlessly scrolling through you Facebook feed? Caught up playing Game of War on your tablet? Tweeting about twats twitting?
Gretchen liked to set aside blocks of 3 or 4 hours with no interruptions when she buckled down to write. Finding those time slots were difficult, obviously. And when she couldn’t find those blocks of time, she’d get agitated. So, she tested a new approach, and found that she accomplished more in smaller time blocks. Her ideal block of time was 90 minutes: “long enough for me to get some real work done but not so long that I started to goof off or lose concentration.” She would break up these 90 minute blocks with other things in between, like chores, laundry, exercise, appointments, dates with friends, etc.
This sounds like something I would like to try with my own writing habits. It’s easy to get lost, especially when doing “research.” I end up clicking different links, learning lots, but totally derailing from the initial search. I believe Teddy should try this 90 minute blocking, too! Eh! You reading this?!

“Enjoy Now” – The “end goal” isn’t the be-all and end-all for happiness. The journey is a large part of the happiness too. But keep in mind, without the destination, there would be no adventure. 😉 It’s a fine art to balance your constant planning for the future, while also enjoying the present.
Excerpt from Gretchen: “If I can enjoy the present, I don’t need to count on the happiness that is (or isn’t) waiting for me in the future. The fun part doesn’t come later, now is the fun part.”

March is all about striving to aim higher, embrace rejection, ask for help, and use your time wisely, all to maximize the happiness you can get from now. I accept the challenge! Do you?
xoxo

____________________________________________________________________

Reference:
Rubin, Gretchen. The Happiness Project. 2011 ed. Toronto, Canada: HarperCollins, 2009. 301. Print.

Buy the book! ^.^

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Share your thoughts! :)

 
