RSS

March Happiness Results!

31 Mar

With March comes the promise of warmer days. Even though I haven’t been able to pack up my winter jacket, I’ve been coming out of hibernation! Here’s what I came up with on March’s goals from The Happiness Project.

March’s focus: Aim Higher/Work

“Launch a Blog” – You’re already reading my blog, so I thought maybe I’d substitute this goal with: Read a Book. To be honest, that didn’t really happen. Instead, I ended up watching a few anime shows and refreshing my knowledge of Hiragana! Yay Japanese!
Which shows did I watch, you ask? Well, I got Teddy to watch Fullmetal Alchemist with me, and then we watched all of Blue Exorcist, some Sword Art Online, and some Fate/Zero. I highly recommend Fullmetal and Blue Exorcist! All of which we watched in Japanese – I find the voice actors to be more into it and less likely for there to be cheesy English-dubbed filler.

“Enjoy the Fun of Failure” – I always do what I gotta do to get stuff done – for the most part! I didn’t take any extravagant risks this month, however, I’m considering returning to school this September for some extra schooling. That could be a risk right? I’d be leaving my full-time job, going to school, and working part-time somewhere new. Whether it works out in my favour or not, I can’t say until I do it! I’ve gone to university in the past and it turned out to be a flop, but I still learned some valuable life lessons along the way!

“Ask for Help” – I’ve been opening up more about my novel with Teddy and asking for his opinion on certain plot points. His added ideas have helped me see things I may not have caught before, allowing me to explore other options. Just because it’s my novel, and I’m the expert, doesn’t mean I can’t ask for outside help. It’s good to bounce ideas off of others.
In other areas, I often don’t ask for help because I like to be highly independent and accomplish things on my own, in my own way. But that’s not always possible, and asking for help is something I need to do more of. 🙂

“Work Smart” – This month alone, I’ve deleted roughly 3 or 4 games off my phone that I had spent too much time on. Sure, I cried a little, but I got over it. 😛 I also found freedom in turning my phone’s vibrator off completely. So when it’s in “ring” mode, I can still hear my text tones, but without vibrating. And when it’s in “silent” mode, there’s no sounds and no vibrating. Why did I do this? Well, more often than not, I would always feel my phone vibrate rather than hear it, resulting in unlocking my phone ASAP and responding instantaneously. Well, now that I can’t feel it all of the time, I get around to responding to texts and emails at my leisure. It’s somehow more freeing and I feel less of a slave to it. Does that make sense?
In regards to my writing habits – I’d like to keep with Gretchen’s advice of writing for 90 minutes blocks at a time, broken up by chores or appointments, to keep my focus and prevent myself from straying.

“Enjoy Now” – This was the easiest goal to date! Of course I’m always making future plans and play-dates with friends, but it’s hard not to enjoy each day. That’s not to say there aren’t bad days or days that I didn’t use to the fullest. For the most part, I’m content with how I spend my time. I suppose my biggest concerns include getting a more satisfying day job, working on my novel, and getting my own place that I can comfortably afford (which is affiliated to my future successful job 😛 ).

Overall, I felt March’s goals made me think more about what job I would like to have alongside my writing – you know, so I can pay the bills! Otherwise, I found they were light or less tangible than I had hoped.

With that said, let’s move onto April!
Happy Almost-Warm Weather! xoxo

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2015 in Books, Life, My Happiness Project, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

Share your thoughts! :)

 
